March 2017

Week Ending: 22/09/17

Whole School Attendance: 95.83%.

Dear Parents/Carers,

Another busy month ahead but the prospect of more daylight in the mornings and evenings is really welcome.

Thank you for all the responses regarding the potential changes to the term dates for the next academic year (2017/2018).  The responses were overwhelmingly in favour of having a two week half term in October and slightly reducing the Summer term, so I can now confirm that these changes will be taking place and the new term dates are as follows;

 

From

To

Term 1

Wednesday 30th August 2017

Friday 13th October 2017

Half Term

Monday 16th October 2017

Friday 27th October 2017

Term 2

Monday 30th October 2017

Wednesday 20th December 2017

Christmas Holidays

Thursday 21st December 2017

Wednesday 3rd January 2018

Term 3

Thursday 4th January 2018

Friday 9th February 2017

Half Term

Monday 12th February 2018

Friday 16th February 2018

Term 4

Monday 19th February 2018

Thursday 29th March 2018

Easter Holidays

Friday 30th March 2018

Friday 13th April 2018

Term 5

Monday 16th April 2018

Friday 25th May 2018

Half Term

Monday 28th May 2018

Friday 1st June 2018

Term 6

Monday 4th June 2018

Friday 20th July 2018

 

INSET Days are as follows (no children in school);

Tuesday 29th August 2017

Friday 24th November 2017

Friday 13th April 2018

Monday 23rd July 2018

Tuesday 24th July 2018

Please note – Monday 7th May is a Bank Holiday

First day back will be in the last week of August 2018, date to be confirmed.

The school disco was a huge success – the largest turnout of KS2 ever I think and the PTA raised £450 – thanks to everyone who supported this, especially all the helpers.

We are currently trying to improve the lunchtime and breaktime experience for all our children.  If you have any construction items (e.g. lego), wooden train sets, cars or board games in good condition that you would be willing to donate, please bring them into the office.

We are continuing to invite parents/carers/grandparents to join us for our collective worship first thing on a Monday morning at 9.10am.  Parents are welcome to drop their children off at school as soon as the gates are supervised and then wander up to the church for a cup of coffee and a biscuit prior to our arrival.  The planned dates are listed below.

Collective Worship for Parents/Carers/Grandparents

Year R,  1 and 2

Monday 6th March

Year 3, 4, 5 and 6

Monday 13th March

Year R, 1 and 2

Monday 20th March

Year 3, 4, 5 and 6

Monday 27th March

 

Next Wednesday 8th March Year 2 will be performing their drama ‘Dungeons and Dragons’ to their parents at 2.30pm in the school hall, and on Thursday 9th March Year 6 will be visited by a local Magistrate to learn more about their role in society.

There is a non-uniform day on Friday 10th March; proceeds will be going towards PTA funds. Children are asked to bring in a £1 donation.  During this week children throughout the school will be learning about poetry and would like to share their poems with their parents/carers on Friday 10th March.  KS1 will be at 2pm in the hall and KS2 at 2.30pm in the hall.  There will also be an opportunity to buy doughnuts and school uniform after the performance; all black trousers, skirts etc., will be selling for the discounted price of £2 per item.

The netball league starts on Friday 17th March.  Two teams have been selected and they will be playing approximately eight matches in total, we wish them every success.

Class photos will be taking place on Tuesday 21st March, please ensure that children are in the correct school uniform.

You should already have received a letter regarding parents’ evening on Tuesday 21st March from 5pm until 7pm and Thursday 23rd March from 3.30pm to 5pm.  There will be no clubs during this week.

On Thursday 23rd March at 2.15pm Year R will be performing their Ugly Bug Dance to their parents and carers.  The dance club will also be performing on this day at 2.40pm.

A gentle reminder, that all children in KS2 should have their own pencil case which should contain pencils, one rubber, one sharpener, colouring crayons and a glue stick.  Please do not send children in with Sharpies as these are ruining the furniture.  Every child should have a drink bottle filled with plain water – no juices/fizzy drinks please.

Year 3 will be having their class assembly on Friday 24th March at 2.40pm, all parents and carers warmly invited to attend.

Thank you to all the parents that came to the KS2 Sex and Relationships talk, we had a fabulous response.  If you were unable to attend we are holding a KS1 Sex and Relationships talk at 2pm on Tuesday 28th March, KS2 will also be covered so all are welcome to attend.  Also on the 28th March, Year 2 are visiting Pizza Express in Tenterden as part of their topic ‘Yum, Yum’.  Please can parents/carers ensure that they have sensible walking shoes and a coat.

Year 4 are extremely excited about their residential trip to Swattenden on Wednesday 29th March where they will learn how to work well as a team and to overcome challenges.

The last day of term is Friday 31st March.  The PTA are holding an Easter Egg Hunt after school at 3.15pm.  The cost is 50p and payment is on the day.

On a final note, Mrs Spiers has left the school.  We wish her well for the future.

Kind regards,

Sara Williamson